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Would You Like More Freedom, Money and Time to do What You Want?

Here’s how buckling up can help you achieve them.

It may sound unrealistic that the simple act of buckling up can provide all of this for you. When you look at the facts, it’s true. 

Top 10 Reasons to Buckle Up

10.  It proves to your parents that you’re ready for the freedom and responsibility that comes with driving.
9. Your parents won’t feel the need to nag you about driving rules since you’re already implementing your own.
8. It protects you from other drivers.
7. You won’t have to pay the fines for not buckling up, and for any other unbuckled teen passenger either.
6. If you’re in the front seat, seat belts could reduce your chance of injury by 50 percent.
5. You can play video games, go to a movie, download songs to your iPod or go shopping instead of spending your weekend doing community service.
4. It saves you points on your license.
3. Your parents don’t have to buy Ford’s new car that not only has a continuous chime until you’re buckled up, it mutes the stereo.
2. It’s the best way to avoid being ejected from your vehicle in a crash.
1. Among all the things it can save you, the most important is your life.
	Restricted License Penalties for Seat Belt Violations:


	Violation
	Fine
	Hours of Community Service
	License Suspension Points

	1st Offense
	Minimum $65
	8 to 24
	2

	2nd Offense
	Minimum $100
	16 to 40
	2

	Subsequent Offense
	Minimum $150
	16 to 40
	2 

(After 6 points, your license is suspended!)


Why the Hefty Penalties? 

· Crashes are the leading cause of death for teens in Colorado and across the country.

· Of the 48 teens killed in Colorado in 2008, most were not wearing seat belts.

Since car crashes are the number one killer of teens, there are many laws in place to try and protect you. Seat belts are the best way to ensure survival in a crash. Take the two seconds to click it before you even start the car, and you can avoid the fines, time and driving restrictions. Take the wheel. Take responsibility.
For more information about Colorado’s laws for teen drivers, driving distractions and safe driving habits, visit www.coteendriver.com.

