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GDL article for teen newsletters or school papers

It’s The Fries That Can Kill You!

Don’t drive when distracted, impaired or unbuckled.

It’s school time again.  The weather is still warm.  You roll down the windows, stick the key in the ignition and feel the autumn wind blow through your hair.  That is, if you have your driver’s license.  For other teens, who are stuck in 30 hours of Driver’s Education (or spent their summer there), the steering wheel of freedom is, for now, out of reach.

“Everything we learn in there is common sense,” said 15-year-old Brandy Garcia.  

Brandy is currently enrolled in Driver’s Education classes.  She said that she doesn’t know why she needs to spend 30 hours in a classroom when she already knows the basics of driving.

There probably won’t be yearly quizzes on what was taught in Driver’s Ed.  But as hard as it is to believe, there is a point to what they teach you.  So ease up on the Driver’s Ed instructors; they’re trying to keep you safe.  Your parents are too.

Wouldn’t you spend more time preparing for a school play or the football season? This is life or death. There’s no substitute to 30 hours of an instructor or parent teaching the “whys” and “how-tos” of driving.  But, in a nut-shell, here are some facts that could save your life:

· Don’t get distracted -- French Fries – they’re warm, salty and often the cause of teen car crashes.  Eating while you drive distracts your attention from the road.  One in every six crashes is caused by distracted drivers. Other common distractions include talking or text messaging on a cell phone, playing with your radio, having too many “under-21” friends in your car and arguing with a friend.  Pay attention to the road; not only could it save lives, it’ll save you money in the form of a reckless driving ticket.
· Never drink and drive.  Eight young people die every day in the U.S. in alcohol-related crashes. It kills, period. 

· Buckle up. It’s the law. In fatal crashes, only one percent of belted occupants are ejected from their vehicle while 22 percent of unbelted occupants are ejected. Of those unbelted occupants, 75 percent are killed. If you’re under age 18, you MUST wear a seat belt. Get belted, not busted.

When you’re in the driver’s seat: Take driving seriously. Drive responsibly. Seek advice from your parents or Driver’s Ed instructor.  Know Colorado’s teen driving laws. Remember, it’s the fries that can kill you, not the driver’s education.
To learn more about Colorado’s teen driving laws, restrictions and other important safety tips, visit www.coteendriver.com. 

###

According to Colorado Department 


of Transportation’s coteendriver.com, 16-year-old drivers have higher crash rates than drivers of 


any other age.  











