

Car Seats Colorado Overview & Partner Communications Toolkit

About Car Seats Colorado

Car Seats Colorado is a partnership between Colorado State Patrol and the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT). Its mission is to create an environment in Colorado where every child is properly secured in an approved and appropriate restraint system while riding in a motor vehicle.

Car Seats Colorado is working to reduce the number of child passenger injuries and fatalities and child passenger safety citations statewide through:

- Education on proper child restraint systems, car seat installation and use, and Colorado child passenger safety laws
- Car seat safety technician training, inspection station maintenance and free car seat check events
- Community outreach and engagement with health professionals, local government, educators, parents and caregivers

Talking Points

- Car crashes are a leading cause of death among children under the age of 13 nationwide and, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), three out of four children are not properly restrained when riding in vehicles.
- Parents and caregivers should have rear-facing, forward-facing and booster seats checked regularly for proper use and installation by a certified child passenger safety technician.
- Your child's age, height, weight and manufacturer recommendations all play a role in proper car seat fit.
- Drivers found with an unrestrained or improperly restrained child under the age of 16 will be ticketed and fined.
- Don't let the price of a car seat discourage you more expensive does not mean safer. All car seats whether they're \$40 or \$400 must meet the exact same safety standards.
- Car Seats Colorado provides education and resources to help parents ensure their children are riding safely. Visit CarSeatsColorado.com for information and resources.

Sample blurb for newsletter/website

Protect what's most important to you

Research from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) shows that three out of four children (that's 75%) are not properly secured in their car seat. Factors contributing to this include an improperly installed car seat, use of a car seat that does not fit the child based on their size and the seat manufacturer's limits, and not securing the harness or seat belt correctly. Any form of improper use puts your child in danger during a crash and most parents are not even aware they may be using or installing their car seat incorrectly.

[Organization] is proud to be a part of <u>Car Seats Colorado</u> and encourages every parent or guardian to have their car seat checked regularly and secure their child properly on every trip. A properly installed car seat is the single most effective way to prevent death or serious injury to your child.

Visit <u>CarSeatsColorado.com</u> for a wealth of information and downloadable resources to teach you and yours the basics — and the finer points — of keeping your child secure and in the correct seat.

Failing to use the proper type of car seat for your child is illegal. Parents or caregivers caught with an improperly restrained or unrestrained child can receive a minimum fine of \$82.

Colorado has hundreds of highly-trained certified car seat safety technicians across the state available to help parents and caregivers. Visit a technician station location or keep an ear out for one of our free seat check events near you. A list of locations and events can be found at CarSeatsColorado.com.

Technicians are trained to perform extensive safety checks on car and booster seats to ensure your child is safely secured. Technician training programs are also available with participating partners. Learn more about Child Passenger Safety and technician training programs at CarSeatsColorado.com.

Sample posts for Facebook

Three in four children traveling on Colorado roads are improperly restrained, putting them at risk for serious injury or death in a crash. We are proud to partner with Car Seats Colorado to help keep the children of our community safe. Follow manufacturer directions for car seat installation and always make sure your child is properly secured in a well-fitting car seat or booster seat. Images:

Every child is unique, and so is how they fit in a car seat. Car seats, booster seats and seat belts are developed to protect children based on age, weight, height and seat manufacturer guidelines. Join us at [location] on [date] for a free car seat check event and have your child's seat checked by a certified car seat technician. Visit CarSeatsColorado.com for more dates and locations or to find the technician inspection station nearest you.

Images:

Wondering if your child is in the right car seat for their size? Join us at [location] on [date] for a free car seat check event and have your child's seat checked by a certified car seat technician. It could save your child's life. Visit CarSeatsColorado.com for more dates and locations or to find the technician inspection station nearest you.

Sample posts for Twitter

Three out of four children traveling on CO roads are improperly restrained. Visit CarSeatsColorado.com to learn about car seat fit and how to keep your child safe in a crash.

Child Passenger Safety enforcement is on now in our community! Children under 16 must be properly restrained, and violators will be fined.

Is your child's car seat properly installed? Find out at our FREE seat check event on [date] at [location]. Certified car seat technicians will be on hand to inspect your rear-facing, forward-facing or booster seat. Learn more at CarSeatsColorado.com

Protect what you love the most. Your child's car seat is the most important factor to keep them safe in a crash. Proper fit and installation are key. Height, weight, age and manufacturer recommendations all play a role. Visit CarSeatsColorado.com to learn more.

Images:



