

Safety & Toll Enforcement Program (STEP)

Proposed Business Rules Revisions

Staff Proposal

- Add threshold(s) to business rules related to DMV Holds and Hot List
 - Minimum number of unpaid Notices of Civil Penalty (NOCP)
 - Minimum number of days NOCP is overdue
 - Minimum dollar amount owed



Escalation Timeframe of a Civil Penalty





Original Business Rules

Section O - Notice Non-Payment Rules (Collections, Hot List and DMV Hold)

BR	Description
010	<u>Any</u> Notice that is past due after a Hearing Officer Final Order of liability (30 days) will be sent to collections by the Vendor.
O20	 Any license plate that has <u>excessive</u> Notices shall be sent to DMV hold if the following criteria has been met: Notice is 45 days or more past the due date e.g., liable by default for not scheduling or appearing to a hearing; or Past due the final order of liability date by decision of a hearing officer, over 30 days, that has not been appealed at the county court or past due the court order decision of "liable" over the period specified by the county court.
030	<u>Any</u> orphan license plate (a name and address could not be obtained for) that has Excessive Violations should be placed on the HOT list (for law enforcement); maintained by the Roadside System Vendor.



Proposed Business Rules - Collections Activity

BR	Description
010	Any Notice that is past due after a Hearing Officer Final Order of liability (30 days) will be sent to collections by the Vendor.

Threshold	Currently Defined As	Staff Recommendation
"Any"	License plates from any state	License plates from any state
	No minimum number of unpaid Notices	No minimum number of unpaid Notices
	No minimum amount due	No minimum amount due



Proposed Business Rules - DMV Hold

BR	Description
020	 <u>Any</u> license plate that has <u>excessive</u> Notices shall be sent to DMV hold if the following criteria has been met: Notice is 45 days or more past the due date e.g., liable by default for not scheduling or appearing to a hearing; or Past due the final order of liability date by decision of a hearing officer, over 30 days, that has not been appealed at the county court or Past due the court order decision of "liable" over the period specified by the county court.

Threshold	Currently Defined As	Staff Recommendation
"Any"	All Colorado license plates	All Colorado Plates
"Evenerive"	No minimum number of unpaid Notices	5 or more unpaid Notices
"Excessive"	No minimum amount due	\$900 or more owed



Proposed Business Rules - DMV Hold Continued

BR	Description	1		
O20	 Any license plate that has excessive Notices shall be sent to DMV hold if the following criteria has been met: Notice is 45 days or more past the due date e.g., liable by default for not scheduling or appearing to a hearing; or Past due the final order of liability date by decision of a hearing officer, <u>over 30 days</u>, that has not been appealed at the county court or Past due the court order decision of "liable" over the period <u>specified by the county court</u>. 			
		the court order decision of thabte of	ter the period <u>specifica by the county court</u> .	
Thresh		Currently Defined As	Staff Recommendation	
Heari				



Proposed Business Rules - Orphan License Plates

BR Description

O30 <u>Any</u> orphan license plate (a name and address could not be obtained for) that has <u>Excessive</u> Violations should be placed on the HOT list (for law enforcement); maintained by the Roadside System Vendor.

Threshold	Currently Defined As	Staff Recommendation
"Any"	License plates from any state	 Colorado license plates Sovereign citizen license plates No state
"Excessive"	No minimum number of unpaid Notices	5 or more unpaid Notices
Excessive	No minimum amount due	\$900 or more owed



Next Steps

- Update Section O Notice Non-Payment Rules (Hot List and DMV Hold) Business Rules per Board comments
- Pending B.O.D. Comments, Staff will take steps towards implementation



Questions?

