Southwest Chief & Front Range Passenger Rail Commission

Southwest Chieft & Front Range Passenger Rail logo

The Passenger Rail Commission (aka, the Southwest Chief & Front Range Passenger Rail Commission) coordinates and oversees efforts by state and local governments—and cooperates with Kansas, New Mexico, Amtrak and the BNSF Railway (BNSF)—to ensure completion of track repairs and upgrades required to continue Southwest Chief Rail service in Colorado. The Commission also works to extend service to Pueblo, and is fully exploring the benefits of service extension to Walsenburg.

Additionally, the Commission facilitates the development of a Front Range Passenger Rail system, as well as legislation for rail service in and along the I-25 corridor that is a well-integrated component of a modern, efficient and cost-effective multimodal transportation system.


Voting Members



Jill Gaebler Pikes Peak Area Council of Governments
Jacob Riger Denver Regional Council of Governments
Nathan Anderson Class 1 Railroad Representative - Union Pacific Railroad
Chris Wiseman Pueblo Area Council of Governments 
Becky Karasko North Front Range Metropolitan Planning Organization
Rick Klein Resident of Huerfano, Las Animas, Otero, or Pueblo Counties
Sal Pace, Vice Chair Passenger Rail Advocate 
DJ Mitchell Class 1 Railroad Representative - BNSF Railway
Phil Rico South Central Council of Governments
Jim Souby, Chair Passenger Rail Advocate 
Bill Van Meter Regional Transportation District

Non-Voting Members



Colorado Department of Transportation (DTR/Director)
Rob Eaton Amtrak
Dale Steenbergen Cheyenne, Wyoming, Chamber of Commerce

Southwest Chief Commission

View information about the precursor to this Commission. The Southwest Chief Commission has been replaced by the Southwest Chief and Front Range Passenger Rail Commission as of July 1, 2017.