Executive Director & Staff

Executive Director Shoshana M. Lew

Shoshana M. Lew.jpg

Shoshana M. Lew was appointed as the executive director for the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) in December 2018. She is charged with leading the department in planning for and addressing Colorado's transportation needs, and overseeing 3,000 employees statewide and an annual budget this year of approximately $2 billion.

Prior to coming to Colorado, she served as the chief operating officer (COO) for the Rhode Island Department of Transportation (RIDOT). Also, she was the chief financial officer and assistant secretary for budget and programs for the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT), as well as the deputy assistant secretary for transportation policy at the USDOT.

Lew has also worked in other areas of the federal government, including the U.S. Department of the Interior, and the Office of Management and Budget and Domestic Policy Council within the White House. Prior to her federal service, she worked at the Brookings Institution.

She is a graduate of Harvard College with a bachelor's degree in history. Lew also has a master's degree in history from Northwestern University.

Executive Management Team (EMT)

The Executive Management Team members are comprised of office directors, division directors, regional transportation directors (RTDs), the chief engineer, the deputy executive director, and the executive director from CDOT. The EMT reports directly to CDOT's executive director. The purpose of the EMT is to focus on high-level policy and strategic issues, as well as business improvement.

Executive Management Team

Executive Director
Shoshana M. Lew 

Deputy Director
Herman Stockinger

Chief of Staff
Sally Chafee

Chief Engineer
Steve Harelson

Division of Human Resources
Chief Human Resources Officer: Kristi Graham-Gitkind

Division of Transportation Development
Director: Rebecca White

Division of Accounting & Finance
Chief Financial Officer: Jeff Sudmeier

Office of Policy & Government Relations
Director: Herman Stockinger

Division of Aeronautics
Director: David Ulane

Division of Project Support
Director: Jerad Esquibel

Office of Communications
Director: Matt Inzeo

Division of Maintenance & Operations
Director: John Lorme

Division of Transit & Rail
Director: Amber Blake

High Performance Transportation Enterprise
Director: Nick Farber

Division of Audit
Director: Frank Spinelli
Office of Program Management
Director: TBD 
Office of Transportation Safety
Director: Darrell Lingk

Office of Innovative Mobility
Chief: Kay Kelly

Office of Emergency Management
Director: TBD

Central 70 Project
Director: Bob Hays 

Regional Transportation Directors